Pennsylvania Overtime Laws

Updated May 3, 2024
6 min read
Title "Pennsylvania Overtime Laws"; Themis, LAW book, bundle of papers, laptop, checklist

Overtime laws in Pennsylvania (PA) dictate how much money employers have to pay when their employees work beyond the federally mandated maximum of 40 hours per week. Federal and state labor laws provide rules for how much workers must be compensated for their hourly work and, by extension, their overtime work. 

This guide will lead you through relevant overtime laws in PA, common state wage payments, and overtime exemptions in Pennsylvania.

Overtime Rules in Pennsylvania and Minimum Wage

The amount of overtime to which you are entitled is based on your regular pay rate and the terms of your employment contract, whether you are an hourly or salaried employee. Pennsylvania overtime laws must follow federal law with regard to minimum salary. The Minimum Wage Act requires all employers to provide employees earnings or basic minimum wage at $7.25 per hour for up to 40 hours, after which Pennsylvania overtime laws and federal rules dictate you receive overtime. Paid overtime applies only to your overtime hours worked. 

You must receive compensation for overtime in PA on the next paycheck. If, for example, you get your weekly salary, you should see any overtime hours included in the following paycheck. On your paycheck, you should see:

  • How many hours you worked

  • How much you earned

  • What overtime hours you worked

  • How much overtime you earned

  • Beginning and end dates for the given pay period

What is the “regular rate” of pay?

In Pennsylvania, the term “regular rate” of pay refers to how much you get paid regularly for each hour you work — your average wages. Anything beyond 40 hours at your regular rate is subject to PA overtime rules. 

Overtime Laws in Pennsylvania

The Federal Fair Labor Standards Act is a federal law which mandates all states, including Pennsylvania, provide compensation for overtime pay in compliance with federal minimums. 

During a given work week, any hours an employee works beyond 40 hours qualifies for overtime pay in PA. The current overtime pay rate is the same as the federal level: 1.5 times a standard rate of pay. While your employer can legally force you to work overtime, they must provide you with compensation to match it. 

Employers are required now by overtime laws in PA to provide overtime compensation as money. They cannot offer employees things like extra days off instead. 

For PA labor law overtime, there are no limits on overtime pay based on the size of the company. All companies, whether they have two employees or 200 employees, must provide compensation for overtime. 

Exemptions under Pennsylvania overtime law

There are PA overtime exemptions to this, but not as many as there were before. 

Previously, there were situations where employees tried to circumvent paying overtime in Pennsylvania. One of those is providing employees with a salary rather than an hourly paycheck. In theory, putting employees on salary can increase the number of hours they work, without requiring the company to pay them for overtime. 

However, the new Pennsylvania double time laws require employers to pay employees overtime even if they are salaried employees. Now, the weekly amount earned on salary (or monthly amount divided by four weeks) is used to calculate the equivalent hourly rate for the salaried employees which is then used to determine overtime pay. 

For example, if a salaried employee makes $2,600 per month, that is the equivalent of $650 per week. Divided by a traditional 40 hour workweek, this equates to $16.25 per hour. So, for any time beyond the 40 hours worked, said salaried employee would be entitled to 1.5 times the $16.25 rate. 

That said, there are some overtime exemptions including exempt employees. You will know if you are an exempt employee because exemptions are included in work contracts. Some examples of exempt employees include business owners or C-suite executives. 


There are also specific industries and jobs which are exempt from overtime pay, including:

  • Maple syrup producers
  • Taxicab drivers
  • Sales people in the automotive industry, truck industry, or aircraft industry
  • Mechanics in the automotive industry, truck industry, or aircraft industry
  • Employees of movie theaters
  • Seamen 

PA Overtime Laws and Overdue Overtime

According to PA overtime laws, If you are owed overtime, but your employer has not paid you, you can file a claim for unpaid overtime. You have three years from the date your overtime was earned to file a claim for compensation. Federal law is only two years, but Pennsylvania state is three.

If your overtime is more than 30 days past due, then your employer owes you an additional 25% on top of the overtime compensation. 

You are able to file a claim under both:

  1. Mandatory overtime laws in PA, and
  2. The Federal Labor Standards Act

Both claims can be filed concurrently. The federal court can enforce both laws at the federal and state level. However, if you do opt to pursue a claim, you will need to proceed in one of three federal court districts in the state. 


Overall, the rules regulating PA labor law overtime have been made much more aligned with federal law. You are entitled to overtime pay for any hours worked beyond 40, with few exceptions. If you are a salaried employee, your salary is used to determine your relative hourly rate. The hourly rate is then multiplied by 1.5 to produce your overtime figure. If you have unpaid overtime, you can pursue compensation for up to three years at the state and federal level.

Legal Disclaimer

Please note that Lawrina does not provide any legal services. The information on Lawrina’s Site and its downloadable content, including legal articles and templates, shall not be considered legal advice and is not guaranteed to be correct, complete, and up-to-date. If you require legal advice on your issue, we recommend you contact a qualified attorney licensed in your state. You personally assume full responsibility for any consequences, damages, and costs associated with your use of any content of Lawrina Services available on Lawrina’s Site. 

By using Lawrina’s Site you agree with mentioned above and give your irrevocable consent to comply with and to be bound by the provisions of Lawrina Service terms. 

Also Read

Final Paychecks in Ohio
When are employers in Ohio required to pay final paychecks to their terminated employees? Answering this question requires an understanding of the Ohio final pay laws and state laws governing payment of wages. As you will see while reading this guide, applying the Ohio state law on the issue of disbursing final paychecks to terminated employees is not as straightforward as it sounds. This guide seeks to lead employers and employees within Ohio final paycheck laws on the issue of last wages to te
Missouri Wage Garnishment Laws
The government has tools in place for ensuring people pay their debts. Rather than send people to antiquated debtors’ prisons, federal and state level governments have wage garnishment laws which are designed to forcibly take percentages of your income to repay debt if you failed to do it on your own. In this guide, we shall take a closer look at Missouri garnishment laws, key legislation regulating garnishment, and how one can stop the garnishment of wages. Missouri Garnishment Statutes Wage ga
Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA)
According to data from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 89% of all civilian workers in the United States had access to unpaid family leave. Employees working for employers in Oregon are part of that key statistic, due to the enactment of the Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA or Oregon FMLA), an important piece of state legislation in the field of employment law that seeks to provide job protection to employees. In this guide, we will cover the details about the OFLA, Oregon Family Medical Leave
Oregon Overtime Laws
Overtime in Oregon is determined by both state and federal laws, and rules may vary depending on the employee’s pay rate, occupation, and the industry they work in. As a general rule under federal law and Oregon labor laws, overtime refers to hours worked beyond 40 hours in a workweek and must be paid at 1.5 times the regular hourly rate. This comprehensive guide dwells on Oregon overtime laws, special rules for different industries, who qualifies for overtime pay, and how it is calculated. This
What Is Medical Discrimination?
It is against medical discrimination laws for any employer to discriminate against someone due to the existence of a medical condition. Both state law and federal law prohibit discrimination because of a disability or medical condition. This prohibition extends not just to workplace medical discrimination but to harassment as well. Understanding exceptions to medical discrimination and examples of medical discrimination can help you determine whether you need to take legal action. Definition of
All Guides
      Banking Law
      Bankruptcy Law
      Contract Law
      Entertainment Law
      Independent Contractor Law
      Intellectual Property Law
      Internet Law
      Labor Law
        Final Paychecks in Ohio
        Missouri Wage Garnishment Laws
        Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA)
        Oregon Overtime Laws
        Pennsylvania Overtime Laws
        What Is Medical Discrimination?
      Sports Law
    Real Estate